Antiwar Conservatism Comes to Cato

Bill Kauffman’s event yesterday was great fun — a provocative talk from Bill, a friendly rejoinder from Michael Tomasky, and about 20 minutes of audience Q+A, plus a reception afterwards. Catch up if you missed it by listening to the MP3 or watching the RealVideo.

About three-quarters of the TAC office trekked down to the event, where we found, as expected, a great many familiar faces: Jeremy Lott and Stacy McCain of the American Spectator, Jesse Walker of Reason, my Robert Taft Club associates Richard Spencer and Marcus Epstein, Twilight at Monticello scribe Alan Crawford, as well as Cato’s own Justin Logan and Gene Healy, and many others. Lots of people Dick Cheney would like to see in Gitmo, in other words.

4 thoughts on “Antiwar Conservatism Comes to Cato

  1. Casey Khan May 10, 2008 / 1:06 am

    Just saw the video. Kauffman was brilliant. I think in the long run this will be a more important book than Ron Paul’s. Thus, I’m thinking of getting a copy of it for everyone of my warmongering conservative buddies.

    I love in the Q&A there was a lot of Ron Paul talk going on. I wonder what Mr. Boaz was thinking as it was probably the most the good doctor was ever mentioned aloud in the Hayek Auditorium.

  2. Brent Burk May 10, 2008 / 5:18 am

    I’m going to have to see this video later, but I did purchase his book and expect it to be a good read. I have your review of it in my backpack and assume you enjoyed it as much as I will.

  3. dylan waco May 10, 2008 / 7:34 am

    It is Kauffman’s best book, and it was a Kauffman book that changed my life, so that is a hell of an endorsement coming from me.

  4. Tim May 17, 2008 / 7:55 am

    Interesting talk. It provides a quick tour of the depth and diversity of the American conservative anti-war tradition, a tradition that both dominant forces on the left and right have a shared interest in consigning to the Orwellian memory hole.

Leave a Reply

