David Mamet Reads Economics, Turns Right

There’s nothing profound in David Mamet’s Village Voice essay where he confesses to no longer being a “brain-dead liberal,” but it’s always good to see a heathen get the faith. I especially liked this part:

What about the role of government? Well, in the abstract, coming from my time and background, I thought it was a rather good thing, but tallying up the ledger in those things which affect me and in those things I observe, I am hard-pressed to see an instance where the intervention of the government led to much beyond sorrow.

But if the government is not to intervene, how will we, mere human beings, work it all out?

I wondered and read, and it occurred to me that I knew the answer, and here it is: We just seem to. How do I know? From experience. I referred to my own—take away the director from the staged play and what do you get? Usually a diminution of strife, a shorter rehearsal period, and a better production.

And how did Mamet come by his new perspective?

I began reading not only the economics of Thomas Sowell (our greatest contemporary philosopher) but Milton Friedman, Paul Johnson, and Shelby Steele, and a host of conservative writers, and found that I agreed with them: a free-market understanding of the world meshes more perfectly with my experience than that idealistic vision I called liberalism.

Not bad. If he starts reading Rothbard, perhaps he’ll turn into an anarcho-capitalist.

One thought on “David Mamet Reads Economics, Turns Right

  1. Marty March 12, 2008 / 10:36 pm

    And then, he would fit right in at the Voice again.

Leave a Reply

