Keeping Busy

Sorry for the lack of updates — posts over the next week or so are going to remain pretty sparse.  The good news is that some larger projects of mine are moving along reasonably well.  Peter Stanlis’s forthcoming Robert Frost: The Poet as Philosopher, which I’ve been editing, is coming out later in the summer, and the next book project I’m editing, a new edition of Carle Zimmerman’s overlooked classic Family and Civilization (with some new critical material from Allan Carlson, James Kurth, and Bryce Christensen) is well underway. Look for that this Fall.

My review of John Lukacs’s short book on George Kennan is in the current issue of The American Conservative.  And the next issue will include my review of Thomas McCraw’s biography of Joseph Schumpeter, Prophet of Innovation.  A couple of other reviews and essays will be showing up in the next month or two as well.

4 thoughts on “Keeping Busy

  1. Marty June 25, 2007 / 10:31 pm

    Wow! Some great work coming out of ISI books.
    Keep them coming!

  2. Scott Lahti June 26, 2007 / 10:25 am

    This may well be carrying coals to Newcastle (like shooting fish in a barrel, which latter Dwight Macdonald, I think, says somewhere is not as easy as it sounds), but since my Google and site searches here at TTA turn up no references to the late Christopher Lasch, I thought, given our common interest in neither-fish-nor-fowl thinkers whose independent minds slip the noose of the one-size-fits-all programmatic ideological hand-me-downs common as common among intellectuals as among party activists, I would suggest you and your readers have a good luck as soon as time permits at Jeremy Beer’s mouth-watering and remarkably informative essay on Lasch from Modern Age in 2005. I shall resist my usual sausage-stuffing temptation to block-quote, as the wonderful match of writer and subject defeat judicious excerpting. You may recall (this may be more my fellow Joe Strummer-fan Rod Dreher terrain here) that the Irish postpunk band The Pogues titled a signature album ”Rum, Sodomy and the Lash”; I nominate In This Style therefore ”Beer, Dichotomy and Lasch” as my imagined tag-string for two writers whose instigators’ arms and ammo blast their way through the media-fed left-right reductionism of our time (gratuitous Thunderclap Newman reference and all).

    http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0354/is_4_47/ai_n16128476/print

  3. Scott Lahti July 4, 2007 / 6:03 am

    In his stirring review of the recent elegiac book on the late George Kennan by the latter’s friend John Lukacs (in the July 2 2007 number, now online, of The American Conservative), Daniel quotes from the passage in which Lukacs recalls his last visit to the Kennans in George’s final months –

    ”On a darkening winter afternoon I came to see them in their upstairs bedroom. His head, resting on a pillow, now had a kind of skeletal beauty…I went out, crushed with sadness…”

    Lukacs’ recollection echoed for me one of my desert-island paragraphs, the one with which Goethe’s Boswell, J.P. Eckermann, closes his *Gesprache mit Goethe* (Conversations with Goethe; also known as Conversations with Eckermann), an Enchiridion to many a ”good European” and American cultural traditionalist, from Albert Jay Nock to Robert Nisbet –

    The morning after Goethe’s death, a deep desire seized me to look once again upon his earthly garment. His faithful servant, Frederick, opened for me the chamber in which he was laid out. Stretched upon his back, he reposed as if asleep; profound peace and security reigned in the features of his sublimely noble countenance. The mighty brow seemed yet to harbour thoughts. I wished for a lock of his hair; but reverence prevented me from cutting it off. The body lay naked, only wrapped in a white sheet; large pieces of ice had been placed near it, to keep it fresh as long as possible. Frederick drew aside the sheet, and I was astonished at the divine magnificence of the limbs. The breast was powerful, broad, and arched; the arms and thighs were full, and softly muscular; the feet were elegant, and of the most perfect shape; nowhere, on the whole body, was there a trace either of fat or of leanness and decay. A perfect man lay in great beauty before me; and the rapture the sight caused made me forget for a moment that the immortal spirit had left such an abode. I laid my hand on his heart – there was a deep silence – and I turned away to give free vent to my suppressed tears.

    THE END.

Leave a Reply

