Sale of the Century

Ok, I work for ISI Books now, as a senior editor, so this might be shameless self-promotion.  But I recall that one of the first entries I posted on this blog a year ago was news of a great sale at Oxford University Press, and I think my readers will appreciate hearing about the ISI sale going on right now — 60 percent off all books. I can practically guarantee that if you enjoy my blog you’ll find something we publish that you’ll want, whether it’s American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia, or the Library of Modern Thinkers books on Ludwig von Mises and Robert Nisbet, or Romano Guardini’s The End of the Modern World, a book I cannot recommend highly enough. Plus Bill Kauffman, Russell Kirk, Richard Weaver, and a whole lot more than I can list in one blog post.  (By way of example, the encyclopedia is about $14 in softcover, the Mises and Nisbet biographies $6 apiece.  Those are better than used prices.)

7 thoughts on “Sale of the Century

  1. John Lowell February 15, 2007 / 10:19 pm

    If I were not already familiar with Guardini’s, The End Of The Modern World, I should be an interested buyer. But to anyone else interested in first class prognostication, Guardini’s your man. One idea of Guardini’s, original in its time, was his certainty that the moral vacuum produced by the inevitable expulsion of Christianity from its place of primacy in the West would be filled by the return of not-so-new pagan ideas. And has this development not occurred? Next time you experience the dorm room level discussions of religion passed off as “informed” at your favorite leftish blog, you’re certain to locate it.

    John Lowell

  2. John Payne February 15, 2007 / 11:53 pm

    How long does this sale last?

  3. Daniel McCarthy February 16, 2007 / 12:29 am

    It’s on till March 31, so you have a bit of time.

  4. R J Stove February 16, 2007 / 1:03 am

    Because I’ve enjoyed John Lukacs’ Chronicles articles over the years, I decided to buy the student guide to history that he wrote for ISI. Judge of my gratified amazement when I discovered it to be so heavily discounted that even when the cost of postage to Australia was added, the total price still left me with change from ten American dollars. Is this a bargain or what?

  5. Gaurav Ahuja February 16, 2007 / 12:31 pm

    I bought two books. That was a great suggestion.

  6. Wellness August 7, 2007 / 9:52 pm

    Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Wellness
    k, just want to say hi 🙂
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

Leave a Reply

