Am I Ill? I’m Starting to Like Dick Armey

Actually, Armey was always better than the average GOP congressman — faint praise, I know, but still… Here’s a terrific interview with Armey from the McClatchy Newspapers (via Antiwar.com). An excerpt:

Q: Is George W. Bush a failed president?

A: I’ve said over the years that every president either ends up a pleasant surprise or a bitter disappointment. And we haven’t had a pleasant surprise since Ronald Reagan. I don’t see how anybody can look at the Bush presidency and say this was a success in public policy terms.

Q: Your views on the Iraq war?

A: I’m not sure that it was the right thing to do. You might say removing Saddam from power was a right thing to do. Maybe it was, but was that necessarily then our responsibility to do that? And was it our responsibility to do that by invading a country that had in no way declared any war on us?

Q: You voted for the resolution to go to war.

A: I did, and I’m not happy about it. The resolution was a resolution that authorized the president to take that action if he deemed it necessary. Had I been more true to myself and the principles I believed in at the time, I would have openly opposed the whole adventure vocally and aggressively. I had a tough time reconciling doing that against the duties of majority leader in the House. I would have served myself and my party and my country better, though, had I done so.

3 thoughts on “Am I Ill? I’m Starting to Like Dick Armey

  1. James Wilson February 15, 2007 / 8:05 pm

    This reminds me of Bob Barr’s regret over voting for the Patriot Act. Meanwhile, Ron Paul goes to bed every night with a clear conscience.

  2. Matthew February 15, 2007 / 10:22 pm

    Well now that he doesn’t have any responsiblity to anyone and public opinion is on his side, he can speak his mind.

    While it is refreshing to know that he isn’t a complete fool, he doesn’t get a pass because he knows he is wrong.

    I do like how he defended Tom DeLay on the Texas Redistricting issue. I still agree that DeLay was 100% in the right, and if he needs to sic the Texas Rangers on fleeing Dem legislators, so be it. It’s sad that this particular issue got lumped with the rest of the stuff DeLay pulled in Washington. Like dropping a chocolate easter egg in a dirty toilet.

  3. John Lowell February 16, 2007 / 7:46 am

    Matthew,

    “Like dropping a chocolate easter egg in a dirty toilet.”

    Wonderful simile, Matthew, precious. 🙂

    John Lowell

Leave a Reply

