Open Thread

I leave for North Carolina in a few hours — another Amtrak adventure, as it happens. Since I may be away from the blog for a few days, I thought I’d try something this site hasn’t done before, an open thread. The comments section is by far the best thing about this blog anyway, so fire away! If you haven’t commented before, say hello and / or put something provocative out there, and if you have commented before, do so again.

And if you’re in NC, come to my talk in Raleigh on Tuesday at 7:30 pm. Directions here. (Clark, I’m working on making them more exact — I’ll post the GPS coordinates as soon as I have them.)

16 thoughts on “Open Thread

  1. Tim September 5, 2006 / 1:37 pm

    I think it’s here

    There is a photo of Harrelson Hall here.

    Don’t get lost! 😉

  2. Tim September 5, 2006 / 1:44 pm

    This google maps satellite view should get you closer. See here

  3. Tim September 5, 2006 / 1:48 pm

    An inside view of Harrelson Hall for the cartographically challenged is here

  4. Daniel McCarthy September 5, 2006 / 4:25 pm

    Excellent. That should help Clark.

    The open thread doesn’t seem to be so popular, but that’s all right. I’m writing in from Raleigh right now, having just bought a WiFi card for my laptop, which is just slightly too old to have built-in capability. They have me staying in a suburb the North Carolinians refer to as the “Yankee Containment Area”! Which is appropriate enough: I’d want to quarantine visitors from Washington, D.C., too.

  5. Matthew September 5, 2006 / 8:44 pm

    I’m sorry I can’t make your talk. Hopefully there will be MP3 versions out there.

    No one really likes visitors from DC. I mean, when is it a good thing? Tax refunds maybe, but to a thrifty person – it is better to get the money up front and pay the government later.

  6. Daniel McCarthy September 6, 2006 / 4:59 am

    No MP3, but I’ll probably put the material from my talk to good use in other forms sooner or later.

  7. Viv J September 6, 2006 / 10:13 am

    Yo Dan, I’ve been following your blog since Cole introduced me to it a while back. Great stuff!! Keep up the good work my man.

  8. George September 6, 2006 / 11:10 pm

    Because this is an open thread….

    There is a rumor out there that “The American Conservative” magazine might close shop.

    Can you comment on this?

    I hope that this rumor is untrue! 😦

  9. Daniel McCarthy September 7, 2006 / 3:50 pm

    The American Conservative is indeed closing, at 6 p.m. today. It’ll then re-open Friday at 9 a.m, as usual.

  10. George September 7, 2006 / 9:54 pm

    The rumor that “The American Conservative” was to stop publication at the year’s end was up at Wikipedia

  11. Tim September 8, 2006 / 3:16 am

    Daniel – Any tips on “how to get published in American Conservative?”

  12. Daniel McCarthy September 8, 2006 / 10:47 pm

    Thanks, Tim, that’s something I probably ought to write an actual post about, for the main page. I’ll do so over the weekend.

  13. Tim September 9, 2006 / 7:00 am

    By the way Dan do you have an actual editorial or publishing role with Amconmag?

  14. Tim September 11, 2006 / 2:43 pm

    If that means you cover the book review section, you are doing a great job. The reviews are my favourite part.

  15. Daniel McCarthy September 14, 2006 / 4:03 am

    Thanks; I do indeed make sure the books department is ticking over nicely.

Leave a Reply

