Two Reviews

Two pieces of mine should be on newstands and in bookstores right about now. In the July Reason, I have a review of John Wilkes: The Scandalous Father of Civil Liberty, by Arthur H. Cash, and in the June 19 American Conservative is my review of Gordon S. Wood's Revolutionary Characters.

Too many history books? I've been thinking about reviewing the new Michel Houellebecq novel — The Elementary Particles I enjoyed, like everyone else, though not so much Platform. I started in on the new one, The Possibility of an Island, but didn't find myself impelled to go much further; Houellebecq's "depressive lucidity" was coming across as more depressive than lucid. But that was just after a glance at the first two or three chapters.

Leave a Reply

