Something for the literate

Oxford University Press is in the midst of a winter sale. That means you can buy the Oxford Latin Dictionary for $125. The library edition of R.B. Bernstein’s well-regarded Jefferson: The Revolution of Ideas is going for $12.

Some of the bargains aren’t much better than what you can get from a little hunting around Alibris or Abebooks, but I’ve never seen a better price for the OLD. Every serious student of Latin ought to have one — as should anyone thinking of studying the language in the future.

Edit: The Jefferson book is not the one I thought it was, Bernstein’s short Jefferson bio from a year or two back.  It’s actually a life of Jefferson for junior-high students.  Probably quite a good thing in its own right, but disregard my endorsement above.

11 thoughts on “Something for the literate

  1. Michael Brendan Dougherty March 5, 2006 / 4:33 am

    Speaking of studying the Latin language- what else would be a good tool for an autodidact? I”ve been debating whether to try the Rosetta Stone CD Roms or the more traditional methods promoted by the Rockford Institute.

  2. Daniel McCarthy March 5, 2006 / 5:02 am

    I’d be inclined to trust to Dr. Fleming’s course, though I’m not familiar with the full range of teach-yourself-Latin resources that are out there.

  3. Aakash March 6, 2006 / 12:43 am

    Mr. McCarthy,

    By now, I think you may know who I am.

    But I had no idea that you too now had your own weblog. [I know another person by your name, here at school, but I assume that you are the same D.M. who writes for Lew and TAC.]

    So many new blogs have arisen during the past year or two, and even in recent months… Now, people who are regular columnists are maintaining their own weblogs as well. I have no idea how you guys find the time and energy to keep it up.

    Please let us know how that works. 😉 It would be a big help, with Mid-Terms week right around the corner.

  4. Daniel McCarthy March 6, 2006 / 7:48 am

    “Now, people who are regular columnists are maintaining their own weblogs as well. I have no idea how you guys find the time and energy to keep it up.”

    Well, in my case, I don’t. Which is why there are just three not-very-good posts on this blog so far.

    But one thing that’s always good for productivity is procrastination. There’s a great deal of truth to this Onion article.

  5. Daniel Larison March 6, 2006 / 7:18 pm

    Thanks for the tip about the OUP sale. Though I hadn’t really intended to get any new books this month, the prices for some of the language books (especially the complete Liddell-Scott lexicon) were too tempting to pass up. The dictionary of Byzantium costs 25% of what it normally would, which is remarkable. I already had a copy, but I know a few Byzantine history students who might be compelled to pick that up. I guess they really want to move their remaining stock.

  6. R. B. Bernstein June 23, 2006 / 8:31 pm

    Just to let you know that my THOMAS JEFFERSON: THE REVOLUTION OF IDEAS [Oxford, 2004] is based on and drawn from my THOMAS JEFFERSON [Oxford, 2003]; the virtues of one, such as they are, are reflected in the other.

  7. games July 23, 2006 / 4:01 pm

    as-94783-sa

    pretty cool blog dude.

Leave a Reply

